Department of Computer Science and Technology

Computer Laboratory News » Awards and honours

More award news ...

Older award news (before 2007)

Awards for Professor Karen Spärck Jones

  • 2007 BCS Lovelace Medal
  • 2007 ACM Athena Lecturer
  • 2006 ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award

Andy Hopper has been made a CBE

Prof. Andy Hopper as been made a Commander of the British Empire in the 2007 New Year Honours list for services to the computer industry.

Andy Hopper elected FRS

Prof. Andy Hopper was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2006.

2005 IBM ThinkPad Challenge

Each year the winning Part IB Group Project Team is invited to participate in the IBM ThinkPad Challenge at Hursley. In 2005, Cambridge has become the first university, among the 18 that compete, to win the Thinkpad Challenge twice.

Andy Hopper receives IEE Mountbatten Medal

Prof Andy Hopper was the recipient of the IEE Mountbatten Medal 2004, for his work in the computer industry and in helping the development of UK computer companies.

Keir Fraser wins BCS/CPHC Distinguished Dissertation Award

Dr Keir Fraser was awarded one of the two 2004 British Computer Society/Council of Professors and Heads of Computing Distinguished Dissertation Awards for his PhD dissertation "Practical Lock-Freedom", supervised by Dr Ian Pratt. A second Computer Lab dissertation, "Reconfigurable wavelengths-switched optical networks for the internet core" by Dr Tim Granger, was one of the seven shortlisted for the award. Tim was supervised by Prof. Ian Leslie.

Andy Hopper receives ACM SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award

Prof Andy Hopper was given the SIGMOBILE Outstanding Contribution Award in Philadelphia on 28 September 2004 for pioneering new areas of research in wireless and mobile computing, driven by a unique blend of innovative academic research and recognition of its commercial potential.

Robin Milner receives Royal Society of Edinburgh Royal Gold Medal

Professor Robin Milner was awarded a Royal Gold Medal for outstanding achievement at a ceremony held in The Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE) on 2 September 2004. The medal was awarded for his "outstanding contributions to software engineering which have changed the face of modern computer science."

Karen Spärck Jones receives ACL Lifetime Achievement Award

Prof Karen Spärck Jones was given the Association for Computational Linguistics' Lifetime Achievement Award at the 42nd annual meeting of the ACL in Barcelona on 23 July 2004. These awards began in 2002; Prof Spärck Jones is only the third recipient.

Andy Hopper receives Royal Academy of Engineering Silver Medal

On 5 July 2003 Prof Andy Hopper was awarded the Royal Academy of Engineering Silver Medal in recognition of an oustanding and demonstrated contribution to British engineering leading to market exploitation.

Martin Richards receives IEEE Computer Society Computer Pioneer Award

Martin Richards has been awarded one of the IEEE Computer Society's 2003 Computer Pioneer Awards for pioneering system software portability through the programming language BCPL, widely influential and used in academia and industry for a variety of prominent system software applications.

BCPL is a simple typeless language that was designed in 1966. It was the precursor to Ken Thomson's B, and the two gave rise to C.

David Wheeler made Fellow of the Computer History Museum

In October 2003, Prof David Wheeler was made a Fellow of the Computer History Museum for his invention of the closed subroutine, his architectural contributions to the ILLIAC, the Cambridge Ring, and computer testing.

2003 SET Awards

James Murphy (Jesus College) received the IEE Award for Best Information Technology Student at the national Science, Engineering and Technology Student of the Year Awards in September 2003. This is the third year, running, that a Cambridge student has received the SET award for best IT or CS student.

James' Part II project, the subject of his nomination, was on modelling smoke for computer graphics. This involved solving the equations governing fluid motion (Euler, Navier-Stokes, mass conservation equations) in a stable way to simulate the motion of the smoke, in order to create physically plausible smoke. The solution method was based on a finite grid (Eulerian) discretization and solving the system of sparse linear equations thus produced required the implementation of several numerical methods. He was supervised by Dr Neil Dodgson who says: "James' project was a challenging piece of work; the award is well deserved."

2003 IBM ThinkPad Challenge

Each year the winning Part IB Group Project Team is invited to participate in the IBM ThinkPad Challenge at Hursley. In 2003, the Cambridge team were the outright winners of the ThinkPad Challenge. The final of the contest was held at Hursley on 26 September 2003 with teams from 18 of the best UK Universities battling against each other to win an IBM ThinkPad for each member of the team.

The Cambridge team were: Arthur Taylor, Christian Steinruecken, Andrew Owen, Muntasir Ali, Rui Wang and Sean Moran.

2002 SET Awards

Tim Hospedales of Jesus College received the MISYS Award for the Best Computer or Computer Software Student at the national Science, Engineering and Technology Student of the Year Awards in September 2002. The SET awards are judged based on students' final year projects. Tim's Part II Project was on eye-movement tracking.

2001 SET Awards

Hanna Wallach (Newnham College) received the MISYS Award for the Best Computer or Computer Software Student for her project "Visual Representation of Computer Aided Design Constraints".

Distinguished Dissertations

2004, Keir Fraser, "Practical Lock-Freedom"
2000, Jacques Fleuriot, "A combination of geometry theorem proving and nonstandard analysis with application to Newton's Principia"
1997, John Harrison, "Theorem proving with real numbers"
1994, Sai-Lai Lo, "A modular and extensible network storage architecture"
1993, Andrew D. Gordon, "Functional programming and input/output"
1990, Andrew Harter, "Three-dimensional integrated circuit layout"

Honours Lists

Prof Andy Hopper received a CBE in 2007.
Prof Roger Needham received a CBE in 2001.
Prof Maurice Wilkes was knighted in 2000.
Dr John Daugman received an OBE in 2000.


Royal Society

Prof Andy Hopper (2006)
Prof Mike Gordon (1994)
Prof Robin Milner (1988)
Prof Roger Needham (1985)
Prof David Wheeler (1981)
Prof Sir Maurice Wilkes (1956)

Royal Academy of Engineering

Prof Jon Crowcroft (1999)
Prof Andy Hopper (1996)
Prof Roger Needham (1993)
Prof Sir Maurice Wilkes (1976)

British Academy

Prof Karen Spärck Jones (1995)