skip to primary navigationskip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology



Health and Safety Committee

Health and Safety Committee

Role and purpose

The Head of Department is responsible for matters relating to Health and Safety within the department, but delegates the day-to-day matters to the Health and Safety Committee and the Departmental Safety Officer.

Any health-and-safety concerns should be raised with the Chair, Secretary or any members of the committee, either to be dealt with immediately, or raised at the next meeting depending on urgency. Matters may then be taken directly to Head of Department or the Faculty Board, depending on urgency.

The purpose of the Committee is to stimulate the interest of all members of the Department in the prevention of accidents and to make recommendations to the Head of Department.


As well as members of the Department, the Safety Committee also has representatives from other users of the building.

Piete BrooksChair, Departmental Safety Officer, CO and First Aider
Helen ScarboroughSecretary
Caroline StewartDepartmental Secretary
Martin McDonnellBuilding Services, Fire Manager and First Aider
Markus KuhnUTO, Laser Safety Officer
Joy RookAssistant Staff and First Aider
Helen NealAssistant Staff and First Aider
Ian Burton-PalmerBuilding Services Manager and Deputy Fire Manager
to be foundVisitor
to be foundUnion representative


The Health and Safety Committee usually meets at 10:00, a week before the Faculty Board, in room SW00.