Department of Computer Science and Technology

Department of Computer Science and Technology

The Faculty Board oversees the work of the Computer Laboratory and is responsible for ensuring the provision of facilities for research, for preparing the teaching programme and for ensuring that the teaching given is of a high standard. It replaced the Computer Science Syndicate in 2006.

The Faculty Board meets regularly throughout the academic year; the dates of meetings are published in the University Diary.


a(i)Head of the Computer LaboratoryProf Ann Copestake
a(ii)Four professors elected by the FacultyProf Alan Blackwell
Prof Simon Moore
Prof Peter Robinson
Prof Peter Sewell
bTwo members appointed by the Council after consultation with the General BoardProf Paul Hewett
Dr Brechtje Post
cFour members elected by the FacultyDr Piete Brooks
Dr David Greaves
Dr Andrew Moore
Mrs Dinah Pounds
dUp to two co-opted membersDr Alan Jones
Mr Lee Smith
eThe Departmental Secretary of the Computer LaboratoryMrs Caroline Stewart
fThree student members elected under Scheme Fvacant


  • The Secretary or the Deputy Secretary of the School of Technology
  • A representative from the Faculty of Mathematics
  • The Head of Teaching in the Computer Laboratory unless he or she is a member of the Faculty Board in class (a) or (c)
  • Chair of Research Staff Forum

Annual reports

2005/06, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2009/10, 2010/11, 2011/12, 2012/13, 2013/14, 2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17.

Annual meetings




These online minutes do not cover “reserved business”.

Meeting papers

Dates of meetings 2018-19

  • 16 October 2018
  • 6 November 2018 (Annual Meeting of the Faculty)
  • 20 November 2018
  • 22 January 2019
  • 5 March 2019
  • 23 April 2019
  • 11 June 2019 (No Faculty Board Meeting but additional meeting for Degree Committee members only)
  • 2 July 2019