Department of Computer Science and Technology

IT Advisory Panel

A group was established in January 2005 under the chairmanship of Dr David Hartley to review the provision of IT support services to staff and students in the Computer Laboratory. The main recommendation of their report in July 2005 was for the establishment of an IT Strategy Committee in the Laboratory. The Faculty Board of Computer Science and Technology formed the IT Strategy Group in response. In 2010 the name of this committee changed to IT Advisory Panel.


The IT Advisory Panel's terms of reference are to:

  • understand IT needs in the Computer Laboratory
  • formulate and review policies for IT provision
  • formulate a budget for provision of IT facilities
  • establish priorities and allocate resources for the implementation of the policies
  • promote and monitor adoption and implementation of the policies
  • set rules for the use of IT facilities
  • report annually to the Faculty Board of Computer Science and Technology


The group is chaired by a nominee of the Head of Department and includes three other University Teaching Officers, the Senior Computer Officer and another Computer Officer, a Research Associate, a Research Student, a member of the administrative team, and the Director of the University Computing Service.

The current membership consists of:

Next meeting

14:15 on May 30th 2012 in GS15, WGB