skip to primary navigationskip to content

Department of Computer Science and Technology



Buildings and Environment Committee

Buildings and Environment Committee


By providing the right environment, built space and facilities, we can help the Department to continue to attract and retain the best staff and brightest students, deliver positive experiences and achieve its goals for knowledge and learning.

To maintain its world ranking the Department needs to ensure that the environment in which people work is recognised as a positive asset. Our aim is to ensure that the building supports productivity in teaching, research and administration, and creates a positive experience for staff and students.

The principal remit of the Committee will be to oversee all aspects of the building and the environment:

  • Electrical power supply and energy consumption
  • Other ways to contribute to the University's programme of energy efficiency improvements and carbon reduction initiatives
  • Projects, e.g. refurbishments, alterations, remedial work
  • Major purchases
  • Heating, ventilation, cooling and BMS
  • Other environmental control and monitoring
  • AV requirements
  • Security of the building

Note: The University plans to devolve electric energy costs to Departments and the Computer Laboratory is piloting a trial.


Professor Simon Moore Chair
Dr Piete Brooks Departmental Safety Officer, CO and First Aider
Ms Celia Burns Faculty Administrator (Secretary)
Mr Thomas BythewayHardware Lab Manager
Dr Matthew Danish Postdoc Representative
Mr Martin McDonnell Building Services, Fire Manager and First Aider
Mrs Caroline Stewart Departmental Secretary
Mr Malcolm ScottComputer Officer
To be appointed Facilities Manager and Deputy Fire Manager