For more details on using Subversion visit the Subversion online instruction book
The Basic Usage section of the Subversion guide provides further information about making changes to files.To make changes to a file, you would use the following choice of commands:
- svn add fileAWhen you next Commit, "fileA" will become a child of its parent directory.
- svn add directoryAWhen you next commit, "directoryA" will be added to the repository. If it contains sub files and folders, they too, will be added.
- svn add -N directoryAThe -N switch will add "directoryA" only.
This is the recommended use of svn add as generally the only files which need adding under a directory are the *-b.html, *.pdf and any image files.
- svn delete fileAThis schedules a file or directory for deletion from the repository.
- svn delete directoryA
If it is a file, it is deleted immediately from the working copy.
If it is a directory, it is not deleted, but Subversion schedules it for deletion.
When you commit your changes, then the directory will be deleted from your working copy and the directory.
- svn copy fileA fileBCreates new item "fileB" as a copy of "fileA" and automatically schedules the new file for addition.
- svn move fileA fileBThis is the same as running:
svn copy fileA fileB followed by svn delete fileA
I.e. "fileB" is scheduled for addition as a copy of "fileA", and "fileA" is scheduled for removal.
- svn mkdir newDirThis makes a new directory and then schedules for addition to the repository at next commit.
Before you commit your changes to the repository, it is a good idea to take a look at the changes you have made before committing them. This will:
You can view the details of these changes using the command: svn diff