Computer Laboratory

Computer Architecture Group


Members of the Computer Architecture Group

This page is a list of members of the computer architecture group: past and present. You can find a partially overlapping list of people that have marked computer architecture as an interest on the Computer Science and Technology website.

Academic staff and Fellows

  • Simon Moore
    Massively parallel and secure computer design
  • Robert Mullins
    Neural network accelerators and optimisation techniques, many-core processor architecture and on-chip interconnection networks.
  • Timothy Jones
    Compilation and microarchitectural techniques for reliability, power saving and automatic parallelisation.
  • Robert Watson
    Operating system security, capability systems, multi-processor network stacks, CPU security models, the hardware-software interface.
  • Andrew Moore
    Novel interconnect and network architectures incorporating photonics.
  • David Greaves
    System specification, hardware and software synthesis. General and home networking. Reliable scripting and embedded systems. Compilers for parallel architectures.
  • Alan Mycroft
    Languages and compilers, semantics and reasoning for fine-grain concurrency, program analysis and compilation techniques applied to hardware.

Post-doctoral Researchers

Research students

  • Mahwish Arif
    Working on computer architecture optimizations.
  • Alex Chadwick
    Working on the Loki project.
  • Marton Erdos
  • Ivan Gomes Ribeiro
    Working on the CHERI project.
  • Joe Isaacs
    Working on static data dependence analysis.
  • Franz Fuchs
    Working on secure speculation in superscalar processors.
  • Nandor Licker
    Working on optimisations applied to low-level IRs.
  • Partha Maji
    Working on neural-network compression techniques and architectures.
  • Aida Miralaei
    Working on near-memory compute.
  • Peter Rugg
    Working on applying CHERI to the RISC-V architecture.
  • Jyothish Soman
    Working on the DOME project.
  • Tom Sun
    Working on SIMD vector architectures.
  • Yiren Zhao
    Working on neural-network architectures.
  • Kevin Zhou
    Working on automatic binary parallelisation.


  • Sam Ainsworth (Ph.D. 2018)
    Worked on heterogeneous compute and accelerators. [Technical Report]
  • Roy Spliet
    Working on real-time systems.
  • Hongyan Xia (Ph.D. 2019)
    Worked on the CTSRD project. Worked on capability memory protection for embedded systems. [Technical Report]
  • Colin Rothwell (Ph.D. 2018)
    Worked on security of IO devices. [Technical Report]
  • Negar Miralaei
    Worked on processor wearout and ageing. Sadly deceased October 2016.
  • Alex Horsman
    Worked on HDLs.
  • Konstantina Mitropoulou
    Worked on software fault tolerance. Went to Intel.
  • Alan Mujumdar
    Worked on multicore capability machines for the MRC2 project. Went to Arm.
  • Gheorghe Sarbu
    Worked on flexible accelerators for low-power.
  • Robert Norton (Ph.D. 2015)
    Worked on multithreaded processors and communication techniques. Became an RA in the Programming, Logic and Semantics group. [Technical Report]
  • Niall Murphy (Ph.D. 2015)
    Worked on automatic parallelization. Went to Arm. [Technical Report]
  • Andreas Koltes (Ph.D. 2015)
    Worked on the Loki project.
  • Vasileios Porpodas
    Worked on automatic vectorisation. Went to Intel.
  • Ali Zaidi (Ph.D. 2015)
    Worked on the C3D project. Went to Arm. [Technical Report]
  • Steve Marsh (Ph.D. 2014)
    Worked on the BIMPA project.
  • Daniel Jones
    Worked on hardware accelerators. Went to the University of Oxford.
  • Paul Fox (Ph.D. 2013, then RA)
    Worked on massively parallel neural computation for his Ph.D. and then as an RA on the BIMPA project. Now at SolarFlare. [Technical Report]
  • Amitabha Roy
    Worked on cache coherence for NUMA architectures.
  • Greg Chadwick (Ph.D. 2012)
    Worked on Communication-Centric Computer Design. Now at Broadcom. [Technical Report]
  • Meredydd Luff (Ph.D. 2012)
    Worked on Communication-Centric Computer Design. Now starting his own company. [Technical Report]
  • Milos Puzovic
    Worked on Communication-Centric Computer Design.
  • Charlie Reams (Ph.D. 2012)
    Worked on Modelling energy efficiency for computation [Technical Report]
  • Nick Barrow-Williams (Ph.D. 2011)
    Worked on Communication-Centric Computer Design. [Technical Report] Now at nVidia
  • James Srinivasan (Ph.D. 2011)
    Worked on cache architectures. Now at 23d. [Technical Report]
  • Dan Greenfield (Ph.D. 2010)
    Worked on Communication-Centric Microelectronic Design. Won the UK distinguished dissertation prize. Founded fonleap
  • Andrew West
    Worked on coding for optical networks.
  • Jonathan May
    Worked on Parallel Bridging Models.
  • Saar Drimer
    Worked as an RA on Communication-Centric Computer Design.
  • Rosemary Francis (Ph.D. 2009)
    Worked on switched interconnects for new FPGA architectures. Founded her own company. [Technical Report]
  • Philip Paul (Ph.D. 2009)
    Worked on hardware security techniques. Now at IBM Research in Zurich. [Technical Report]
  • Arnab Banerjee (Ph.D. 2008)
    Worked on Communication Flows in Power-Efficient Networks-on-Chips. Imagination Technologies, UltraSoC, nVidia. [Technical Report]
  • Alban Rrustemi (Ph.D. 2008)
    Worked on dense wired sensor networks. Cofounded fonleap. [Technical Report]
  • Matthew Johnson (Ph.D. 2008)
    Worked on security of consumer security devices for internet banking. [Technical Report]
  • Ian Caulfield (Ph.D. 2007)
    Worked on complexity-effective superscalar embedded processors using instruction-level distributed processing, now at ARM. [Technical Report]
  • Simon (Harry) Hollis (Ph.D. 2007)
    Worked on pulse-base on-chip interconnect. Was a Lecturer at Univ. of Bristol for eight years before moving to IBM Research. [Technical Report]
  • Jacques Fournier (Ph.D. 2007)
    Worked on vector microprocessors for cyptography. Gemalto then EMSE, France. [Technical Report]
  • Petros Oikonomakos
    Worked as an RA on consumer security devices. Now at Nokia.
  • Jeong-Gun Lee
    Was a visiting research fellow working on asynchronous networks on chip.
  • Kate Taylor
    Worked as a Teaching Associate on the Intelligent Verilog Compiler.
  • Abderrahim Doumar
    Worked only briefly as a Research Associate.
  • Huiyun Li (Ph.D. 2005)
    Worked on design time security validation. Now a Professor at SAIT (Shenzhen Institutes of Advanced Technology). [Technical Report]
  • Scott Fairbanks (Ph.D. 2004)
    Worked on mixing clocked and self-timed circuit techniques. [Technical Report]
  • Simon Frankau (Ph.D. 2004)
    Worked on a high level functional hardware description language with stream processing features. [Technical Report]
  • Panit Watcharawitch (Ph.D. 2003)
    Worked on embedded multithreaded processors. [Technical Report]
  • Daniel Gordon
    Was a Senior Research Associate on CODEX teaching project, now at RealVNC.
  • George Taylor
    Was a Senior Research Associate working on the GALS project, but had interests in other projects. He also lectured ECAD from time to time. Now at Azuro/Cadence.