Computer Laboratory

Karen Spärck Jones

Awards for Professor Karen Spärck Jones

We are delighted to announce the following honours for Karen Spärck Jones, emeritus professor of Computers and Information at the University of Cambridge Computer Laboratory:

  • 2007 BCS Lovelace Medal
  • 2007 ACM Athena Lecturer
  • 2006 ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award

The Lovelace Medal is presented by the British Computer Society to individuals who have made a contribution which is of major significance in the advancement of Information Systems or which adds significantly to the understanding of Information Systems. The Lovelace Medal and associated lecture are named in memory of Ada Lovelace, who was an inspiration to the computer pioneer Charles Babbage.

The ACM have named Karen Spärck Jones the 2007 ACM Athena Lecturer. Athena Awards celebrate women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science. The Athena Award is given by ACM-W, the ACM Committee on Women, to nominees from ACM Special Interest Groups, in this case from ACM SIGIR.

The ACM – AAAI Allen Newell Award, sponsored by the Association for Computing Machinery in conjunction with the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence, was established to honour the memory and achievements of Allen Newell. The award is presented to an individual selected for career contributions that have breadth within Computer Science, or that bridge Computer Science and other disciplines.