ASPLOS 2012 Doctoral Workshop

1st ASPLOS Doctoral Workshop

In conjunction with ASPLOS 2012
London, UK - Sunday, 4 March 2012

The 1st ASPLOS Doctoral Workshop is sponsored by D. E. Shaw Group

London Montage

Submission Instructions

Submission will be via email to the workshop chairs, Timothy Jones and Onur Mutlu. Below are submission instructions depending on whether you are a 'Planner' or 'Finisher'.

Group A: Planners

Submit a PhD research proposal. Submissions should identify a problem, briefly present related work and discuss possible solutions.

Group B: Finishers

Submit a thesis proposal and outline future plans. Submissions should describe your research to date, a thesis outline and plans for the future, post-PhD. As supplementary material you can also submit a conference paper, journal paper, technical report, paper that's currently under submission, or a draft article.

Both Groups

Please submit a PDF file in 2-column, single-spaced, 10pt format. It should be no longer than 2 pages including title, references, figures and all other content. Please also include the following somewhere on the first page of your submission.

  • Your name
  • Your affiliation
  • Your email address
  • PhD advisor's name and affiliation
  • Year when you started your PhD
  • A link to your project's website (optional)

Please email this PDF to Timothy Jones and Onur Mutlu ( and with the subject "ASPLOS Doctoral Workshop Submission". All submissions will be acknowledged by email on or before January 6th.

Important Dates

Submission:5th January 2012
Notification of acceptance:19th January 2012
Workshop date:4th March 2012

Please Note: Due to tight deadlines, we cannot extend the submission date.


Timothy Jones (University of Cambridge)
Onur Mutlu (CMU)
Krste Asanovic (University of California at Berkeley)
Michael O'Boyle (University of Edinburgh)
Rich Draves (Microsoft)
Lieven Eeckhout (Ghent University)
Babak Falsafi (EPFL)
Krisztian Flautner (ARM)
Steven Hand (University of Cambridge)
Mary Jane Irwin (Penn State University)
Christos Kozyrakis (Stanford University)
Jim Larus (Microsoft)
Gokhan Memik (Northwestern University)
Tipp Moseley (Google)
Partha Ranganathan (HP)
Per Stenstrom (Chalmers University)