A Collection of Scotch, Galwegian and Border Tunes

This book by Robert Riddell was published in 1794. Although the tunes are set for fiddle and harpsichord, they include a number of variation sets and other tunes that became popular in the Northumbrian piping tradition, plus the fiddle pibroch Mackintosh's Lament.

You can download:

This is believed to have been Nathaniel Gow's copy (from the handwriting on the Squire Dacre page).

The scan was made by Anita Evans.

Return to my music page.

Ross Anderson