If you are reading this on the phone, you might want to switch to mobile version

Getting started

In the main menu of the application, you can find 5 main options - Learning, Editing, Sharing, Settings and Help page.

If you choose to learn right after downloading the application, you will see the message telling that there are no collections to learn from. This is because we haven't included any learning material within the application itself.

Go through the following sections in turn to get started.

Downloading collections

To download your first collection, you have to click Sharing.

Now go to Download to find the list of all available collections. We have prepared a few example collections generated automatically from Wiktionary. You might want to try any of those just to get an idea of what you can do with the application.

Once the collection is downloaded, you will get a notification.

Learning

If you click Learn on the main menu, you will see the list of all available collections. When you click on any of those, the cards from the collection are shown. They can either appear in learning or test mode - however the learning algorithm decides. The algorithm also decides which cards to show you depending upon how well you are doing on them.

To advance to the next card, either fling left on the screen, press Menu > Show next or type in your answer into answer component (if any of them are present - they will be present in testing mode only) and press OK.

For some more information about the collection and how well you are doing on it, long-click on it in the collection browser and choose More information.

You can also report any errors that you notice in the cards created by others by clicking Menu > Report error whilst watching a card and the author will be notified about them.

To change the learning algorithm which is being used, go to Settings -> Learning algorithm and choose one from the list. The Leitner algorithm is the recommended one. There is more information on learning algorithms below.

Learning algorithms

We have prepared a few learning algorithms for you to use:

1. All-in-a-row once, all cards in the collection will be shown to you in the same order they are in the collection. Each card will be shown once only.

2. Iterating algorithm, all cards in the collection will be shown in turn, however, when the end is reached, the algorithm goes back to the first card. First, cards are shown in learning mode, then - in testing mode.

3. Leitner algorithm, classic flashcard algorithm based on grouping the cards, and showing the cards in higher groups less frequently. The cards in group 1 are shown for learning while the cards in all the higher groups are shown in testing mode.

4. Negative Leitner algorithm, a variation of Leitner algorithm - all the cards are in group 2 to begin with (algorithm assumes that you know them), and, from here, they can be moved up/down depending on whether you answer the card correctly or not.

Creating and editing learning content

To create some learning content, you should go to the Editor. Click Add new collection, type in collection name and description and press OK. Once you've done that, click on the collection you have created and choose to Add new card. Now you can choose from 4 different predefined layouts for a card. Choose any of those and you will see an easy-to-use interface for creating cards. If you long-click on any of the buttons, you will see the list of all the components that you can add to that particular place. You can add video, audio, image, text as well as answer components.

You can get back to the cards you have created to make any changes. If you long-click on any of the existing elements in the card, dialog will show up allowing you to either Edit or Delete the given component.

Sharing collections

You can upload your collections by going to Sharing and clicking on Upload. When you do this first time, you will have to register - we need some of your data to keep you informed when users spot an error, etc. Click on the collection that you want to share and it will be uploaded. If you do any modifications, re-upload it and it will automatically overwrite your previous upload. The users who upload the content are responsible for making sure the content does not contain any inappropriate material nor breach any of the author rights.

You can remove the collections you share from web server by going to Upload, long-clicking on a shared collection and pressing Remove from server.