University of Cambridge wins both individual and team gold at national cybersecurity competition

Dr Frank Stajano launched and hosted the Inter-ACE Cyberchallenge, a hacking competition between the country’s GCHQ-recognized Academic Centres of Excellence in Cyber Security Research (ACE-CSR).

The event was run on April 23rd at the Computer Laboratory, in partnership with Facebook.

Ten of the 13 ACE-CSRs sent a team of four students to Cambridge. In parallel, an individual competition was also run online for students who were not in their ACE’s team.

Cambridge won both individual and team gold. The winning team comprised Stella Lau, Will Shackleton, Cheng Sun, Gábor Szarka. The winner of individual gold was Dimitrije Erdeljan. All are undergraduates at the Computer Laboratory.

Posted in Awards and honours, Frontpage | Comments Off

Dr Markus Kuhn receives Bright Ideas Award

Dr Markus Kuhn received a Bright Ideas Award in a ceremony at the University Information Service (UIS) on April 7th 2016.

For the inaugural Bright Ideas campaign, UIS chose to target the 900-strong Cambridge IT community with a technology-focused issue: “affordable ideas that would make a difference to the tech community and the University”.

Posted in Awards and honours, Frontpage, Uncategorized | Comments Off

Professor John Daugman elected a Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors

Professor John Daugman has been elected a Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors (NAI) at a ceremony in Washington DC.

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society.

Posted in Awards and honours, Frontpage | Comments Off

Erroll Wood receives ACM Emerging Investigator Award

Erroll Wood has received the Emerging Investigator Award at the ACM SIGGraph Symposium on Eye Tracking Research and Applications for his paper ‘Learning an appearance-based gaze estimator from one million synthesised images’. The paper is joint work with Tadas Baltrusaitis, Louis-Philippe Morency, Peter Robinson and Andreas Bulling.

The award was made at the ETRA meeting held in Charleston, SC, from 14 to 17 March 2016.

Erroll is a research student working for a PhD in the Graphics and Interaction (Rainbow) research group under the supervision of Professor Peter Robinson.

Posted in Awards and honours, Frontpage, Uncategorized | Comments Off

Robert Harle awarded Pilkington Prize

Dr Robert Harle has been awarded a Pilkington Prize for excellence in teaching.

The Pilkington Teaching Award recognises excellence and innovation in teaching, making a significant impact on the student learning experience.

Posted in Awards and honours, Frontpage, Uncategorized | Comments Off

Ramsey Faragher and Robert Harle receive presitigious Dr Samuel M Burka Award

The Institute of Navigation (ION) presented its Dr Samuel M Burka Award to Dr Ramsey M Faragher and Dr Robert K Harle for their paper “Towards an Efficient, Intelligent Opportunistic Smartphone Indoor Positioning System” published in the Spring 2015 issue of NAVIGATION, Journal of The Institute of Navigation, Vol. 62, No. 1, pp.55-72.

The Burka Award was presented at the ION International Technical Meeting (ITM) and Precise Time and Time Interval Systems and Applications (PTTI) meeting in Monterey, California January 25-28, 2016.

The Dr Samuel M Burka Award recognises outstanding achievement in the preparation of a paper contributing to the advancement of the art and science of positioning, navigation and timing.

Posted in Awards and honours, Frontpage | Comments Off

SwiftKey, Cambridge Ring 2015 Hall of Fame winner, acquired by Microsoft

SwiftKey, the winner of the Cambridge Ring Hall of Fame Company of the Year Award 2015, has been acquired by Microsoft for $250m.

As well as the popular smartphone app, SwiftKey is known for being behind the computer software on Professor Stephen Hawking’s wheelchair.

Co-founded by Computer Lab graduate Ben Medlock, SwiftKey is the latest UK artificial intelligence (AI) firm to be bought up by a US tech giant.

DeepMind, co-founded by fellow Computer Lab graduate Demis Hassabis, was bought by Google for $400m in 2014.

Posted in Frontpage | Comments Off

Professor Simon Moore receives “10-Year Retrospective Most Influential Paper” award

A research paper by Robert Mullins, Andrew West and Simon Moore was selected as the “10-Year Retrospective Most Influential Paper” in the 2016 Asia & South Pacific Design Automation Conference (ASP-DAC).

The award for the paper, “The design and implementation of a low-latency on-chip network”, was presented to Professor Simon Moore at the opening ceremony of ASP-DAC’16 on January 25th, in Macao.


Posted in Awards and honours, Frontpage, Uncategorized | Comments Off

Computer Lab start-up Unikernel Systems acquired by Docker Inc

Unikernel Systems, co-founded by Computer Laboratory staff and postdoctoral researchers, has been acquired by San Francisco based Docker Inc.

Founded in 2015, Unikernel Systems provides a new approach to building, deploying and managing cloud services. The acquisition enables Docker Inc to integrate support for unikernels into its own tools and services.

“This brings together one of the most significant developments in operating systems technology of recent years, with one of the most dynamic startups that has already revolutionised the way we use cloud computing. This link-up will truly allow us all to “rethink cloud infrastructure”, said Balraj Singh, co-founder and CEO of Unikernel Systems.

“This acquisition shows that the Computer Laboratory continues to produce innovations that find their way into mainstream developments. It also shows the power of open source development to have impact and to be commercially successful”, said Professor Andy Hopper, Head of the University of Cambridge Computer Laboratory.

Posted in Frontpage | Comments Off

Thomas Sauerwald awarded prestigious European Research Council Starting Grant

Dr Thomas Sauerwald, University Lecturer in Computer Science, has been awarded a prestigious European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grant. His funded project titled “Dynamics of Multiple, Interacting and Concurrent Markov Chains” will run from 2016-2021, and aims to explore new algorithms based on multiple random walks that are able to cope with massive and complex data sets.

The ERC is the first pan-European funding organisation for frontier research with a budget of 13.1 billion EURO for the period 2014-2020.

ERC starting grants are designed to support outstanding scientists in Europe with 2-7 years of postdoctoral experience to conduct cutting-edge research.

Posted in Awards and honours, Frontpage | Comments Off